30
Jul
07

The Best Life Ever

Update I just wrote a review for this concert for my music appreciation… and I kinda liked my into… so I thought I would post it.

        It was an exciting day for me. I hadn’t seen a rock show in two years. Not since I saw Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, with The Black Crowes, rock’n the Gorge in Washington. Tonight would be different. The venue we were attending was the McDonald theater in Eugene, nice and small. I had never been there, but when I bought my tickets, general admittance was the only option. I really appreciate closer settings for concerts. Two years ago four chain link fences and 300 yards separated me from Tom Petty. Without a jumbotron in sight, I couldn’t help but feel like a refugee. Not this time though, tonight I was going to be up close and personal with the anti-heros of rock, The Queens of The Stone Age.

        The rest of the paper fell victim to the restrictions of the paper… it was still a pretty fun paper to write.

Original post…

Well, I’ve come to the realization that I pretty much have the best life ever. Last Wednesday I went to a Queens of the Stone Age concert in Eugene. They kicked soooo much ass. No Joke, it was an amazing show. It was in a very small venue and I was able to weasel my way right up front. It was great, although I must say that I have never had so much of other peoples sweat on me…. which was pretty gross…. but it didn’t really get to me until after the show…. then the thought alone pretty much gagged me. The Queens of the Stone Age played so tight; it was just an amazing music spectacle to witness.
100_2036
It was really funny cause right after this I worked my way to the front, and right as I got there, my camera popped open and my batteries flew out; never to be seen again. Oh, well. We all had a great time.
100_2038

They don’t look like they are having a great time…. but believe me they are.
100_2019100_2016
See!!!
100_2039
And this is Leslie’s chinchilla Freud. He didn’t make it to the show, but I’m not sure chinchillas like large groups.

100_2042
Then on Sunday we went surfing with Scott, Tasha, Dan, Erica, and Haley. It was a nice little drive to Crescent City in Scott and Tasha’s Jeep. It was pretty much the best day ever. The waves weren’t as big as I have seen them in the past, but I was riding one of Scott’s boards. It was just amazing. Beautiful day and the water was nice too, shorty wet suit. Some people were even trunkin’ it. Pretty much the most fun I have ever had. Then…
100_2064
when the waves died down, and the wind picked up…. so…. we flew kites….
100_2073
It was the best kite weather…. Dan got his kite about 800 out…. then it broke…. there was so much string on it that it didn’t fall it just kept going until it faded of into the horizon. Kinda a romantic ending… in a littering kind of way.
100_2089
Dan felt like He was “King of the World”…
100_2086
So did Rocket Dog.

0 Responses to “The Best Life Ever”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

