19
May
07

Battle of the Bland

So I went to the Battle of the Bands Klamath Falls…. sponsored by KTEC and held at the OIT Gym… I was there to see the Throwbacks… 100_1294So we made a mad dash for the show… I caught a ride with the Official Throwbacks Groupies… Madi and Katie….and Ursula… and we met up with the Throwbacks en route to the show…. I knew there would be trouble when the promised 400 spectators turned out to be about 75 Emo kids…. luckily I showed up half way in and only had to listen to like 5 of these horrible bands…. then the Throwbacks went on… they came on strong and with only one noticeable mistake….. 100_1299played a very decent set… I woudn’t say that the crowd went wild… but it is pretty hard to get Emo kids to do anything… there were some kids that were obviously digging it… and the Throwbacks fans made more than ample noise… girls screaming and causing mayhem… reminiscent of early Beatles videos… it was good… after that a couple more crappy bands…. then the threat…. the local heroes Fat Sexy…madi and guy and I knew they would be trouble when I saw the drummers pants… and his kit…. he had three kick drums, 7 cymbals, like five toms including 3 rotos… and before they started going… one of the judges introduced them…. which I should point out… nobody else got introduced by a judge… but people were yelling, cause of the spectacle they were about to see…. I knew the Throwbacks were in deep shit (pardon my language… but the situation was dire to say the least)…. and as soon as they hit their first cord I thought… what? They’re actually gonna start their set with a Darkness cover…. of course… the tension lifted, and lessened even more as the proceeded to butcher “I Beleive in a Thing Called Love.” The singing was just bad…. although he had the guitar licks down…. the bass players gimmick was that he was wireless and halfway through the song everyone noticed that he was up in the grandstands…. and when the song ended I’m like “o.k. lets see what these guys are made of…. and…. drum solo…. for at least fifteen minutes…. which completely violated the strict rules that everyone else had followed… then they played an original…. and it was soooo bad!…. one thing that I liked was that it gave each member their own chance in the spotlight…. lead guitar… very eighties glam… another drum solo… good….bass solo….. worse than me… and I admittedly suck…. it was brutal just to watch… and finally when they ended the judges tallied the votes…. and came back…. they anounced that the Throwbacks got third… and I’m like o.k…. and then second place was My Council, which I didn’t actually hear and have nothing bad to say about…. and first place went to… of course… Fat Sexy… they won… not by talent in singing or song writing… and it wasn’t sex appeal…. they won by cheap gimmicks and a good friendship with the judges…. after the show a lot of these punk and Emo kids came up and thanked the Throwbacks and told them how they should have won….

I knew that was how it was going to play out… I have seen several battle of the bands… and seen American Hit List completely dominate a crowd and still get second…. because the winner is always a friend of the judges…. so I don’t feel so bad… The Throwbacks shouldn’t either they played a great set…. and thanks to all you punk kids out there for coming out and rocking… long live Rock!

0 Responses to “Battle of the Bland”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

